Transition crash bug

HobbitG

New Adventurer
Joined
Jul 31, 2006
Messages
100
Reaction score
0
Location
Hobbiton - The Shire
I noticed something interesting about the transition bug. it seems that the server doesn't always crash, depending on the players on the server. I was testing to see if the linux server even crashed with 2 players transitioning. and, because of the way i'm running it, it can't pop up message boxes about memory dealloc, so i was testing to see if it would crash "nicely" and restart. so i got on my server, with another person named.. well... it starts with an A and ends with ^^. anyways, we transitioned 4-5 times with no problem, but he had to leave and someone else took his place. It crashed every time after that.

So, whatever this means to you guys, hopefully it's helpful. :D
 

HumanSteak

New Adventurer
RiP
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
900
Reaction score
0
Same here, I can most times transition with only me and another guy. But sometimes it crashes anyway.
 

evilsquirrel

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
2,905
Reaction score
0
Age
36
Location
middle of nowhere
i've got my solution already...

bind enter "amx_leave evil; accept"

kicks everyone then transitions 8)
 

HumanSteak

New Adventurer
RiP
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
900
Reaction score
0
Know if theres a way to make everyone disc then come back auto? Just like the votemap thing does cuz I hate waiting for everybody to disconnect and I don't want to be an ass kicking everyone.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Only certain combinations of characters seem to cause the issue. It's more prevelent on FN servers and server side character servers, seems almost non-existant with client side servers. It's common enough that, really, should just not risk it and votemap every time.

So far the only solution I have is the AMX plugin that starts a vote when you hit a trans, but you need to at least votekick the AFKs or you can't trigger the trans. There is no way, so far, to capture the map change before it happens, and kick/reconnect everyone automagically, save the vote.
 

evilsquirrel

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
2,905
Reaction score
0
Age
36
Location
middle of nowhere
mebbe it has something to do with the file size of thier characters, since on clientside the characters aren't stored on the server...

SPEAKING OF CLIENTSIDE...why does it take about a minute to upload a file thats under 4kb?
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
I don't know. ><

I assume, for some reason, it wants to be absolutely for-fooking certain it go the character right... Maybe it rechecks it 50,000 times, or somethin. :\
 

HobbitG

New Adventurer
Joined
Jul 31, 2006
Messages
100
Reaction score
0
Location
Hobbiton - The Shire
What does votemap do that makes it not crash that changelevel doesn't do? and is there any way to call that function maunally, without the vote?
 

The Man In Black

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
RiP
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
6,904
Reaction score
71
Votemap kicks all the players and reconnects them after the server has changed level. Problem is, if you're on a listen server, it kicks the host too :D
 

Shurik3n

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
1,357
Reaction score
0
Age
34
The Man In Black said:
Problem is, if you're on a listen server, it kicks the host too :D
Thats easy to fix.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Shurik3n said:
The Man In Black said:
Problem is, if you're on a listen server, it kicks the host too :D
Thats easy to fix.

You tell me how to fix it then. :p Here's the current source of chaos
Although I am trying to discourage people from running listen servers, as it opens a whole new can of worms.

heh, that's pretty stupid. but is there a way to call that function manually?
There's no way to capture the attempted map change and force the function before it happens, is the issue.
 

Shurik3n

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
1,357
Reaction score
0
Age
34
I'm more adept at AMXX, but I believe this is the same between them, where the first player to join a server is playerid 1.
Code:
  for ( new iPlayer = 1; iPlayer <= g_maxplayers; iPlayer++ ) {
	if ( is_user_connected(iPlayer) ) {
if(iPlayer == 1) continue
		  client_cmd(iPlayer," alias waiter1 ^"wait;wait;wait;wait;wait;wait;wait;wait;wait;wait^"");
		  client_cmd(iPlayer, "wait")
		  client_cmd(iPlayer, " alias tenwaiter ^"waiter1;waiter1;waiter1;waiter1;waiter1;waiter1;waiter1;waiter1;waiter1;waiter1^"");
		  client_cmd(iPlayer, "wait")
		  client_cmd(iPlayer, " alias delayrec ^"disconnect;toggleconsole;tenwaiter;tenwaiter;tenwaiter;tenwaiter;echo Reconnecting...;retry^"");
		  client_cmd(iPlayer, "wait")
		  //client_cmd(iPlayer, "echo DEBUG: ^"quote test^" XD");
		  client_cmd(iPlayer, "clear;wait;echo MAPCHANGE: YOU WILL BE RECONNECTED SHORTLY... PLEASE WAIT!");
		  client_cmd(iPlayer, "wait")
		  client_cmd(iPlayer, "delayrec");
	}
  }

EDIT: Cant use bold tags in code tags so I will just say that all I added was the "if(iPlayer == 1) continue".
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
I think player ID's count up with connects, so that may not work... But worst case scenerio is it leaves 1 player connected, who may or may not be the host. Transition would work that way anyways, so I can toss that in.

Those effing AMXmodX guys took out a function that would solve all of this. AMXmodX isn't compatible with MSC, despite their denials, anyways.
 

Shurik3n

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
1,357
Reaction score
0
Age
34
If its a listen server the host will always be id 1 (the first person to join and not leave).
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Shurik3n said:
If its a listen server the host will always be id 1 (the first person to join and not leave).
Seems to work, I'll see if it causes any issues on the beta-server, but I don't see why it should. (Everyone once in awhile AMX does something strange in MSC though, which is one of the reasons that code is so chaotic - which, probably isn't helping in turn ;) )

BTW - I intended to add a PVP vote option and set it up so it goes into PVP mode before loading PVP maps, but those of you of you who managed to snag the beta-version of the AMX will have to delete your addons/amx/config/maps folder for it to work.

PS. You wouldn't happen to be able to code for HL would you? (Or have any other useful AMX plugin ideas?) ;)
 

Shurik3n

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
1,357
Reaction score
0
Age
34
I might be able to code a little for HL. Right now I am I learning HL2 modding (for MS:S) and I would assume it would be similair to HL but I don't know how much I would be able to do at this point. As for AMX plugin ideas I don't have any, but if somebody else did I could probably make it into a plugin.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
NVM, if you're working on MS:S I don't want to distract you from that - although I may pester you with a question from time to time. ;)
 
Top