Alpha Tests Thread

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
There's an alpha test out on the dev team, but as the dev team is so small ATM, several non-devs are helping out with it. This thread is to aid those outside the dev team in giving more detailed bug reports.

For those of you recieving:
HLDS_PUOD said:
Cache_TryAlloc <some_number> is greater then free hunk
On edana or the_wall, or other map, remove the -num_edicts flag from your HLDS command line. (You may also try adjusting the number of free edicts reserved - but no promises).

=========

Known issues:
• char_recover is blinding in bloom (cuz fullbright really means "fullbright" with bloom)
• Text hard to read with bloom (try ms_txthud_bgtrans 0)
• Crazy text scramble (IMG)
- Cannot duplicate thus far, although seems intermittent, according to reports.
• In third person, player stands if you attack while ducking (not sure if this applies to other clients you view)
• modelbug: Polearm attack animations alignment fails
• modelbug: (not sure what to do about the third person throw anims - maybe we should use other hand for mesh bone?)
• script/code: Client spams VGUI error after holding weapon for a certain amount of time. (Prob not visible in final release - but still not good.)

Non-Issues:
• Tint or Fog remains after map change
- Remember not to use Changelevel while weather effects are on. Clearsky, or use vote/admin system. (Also applies to MAY2010)
• Some critters glow on siege maps (this is normal, side effect of dev mode - those that glow have dedicated themselves to siege targets)
• BETA BANK fubar's characters (DON'T USE IT, this is actually a very OLD beta bank we abandoned ages ago, it only appears with developer mode on - it may fubar chars in other slots as well) [Removed: DEC2010_13]
• Rain Tint / Fog vanishes when I go underground (That's *because* you are underground - should only apply to snow and rain fog, however - all other fogs should remain.)

Fixed/Addressed:
• Talking to Finven in Sorc Villa stops him from opening his store
• Polearms have no miss-chance in primary attack
• Pharaoh's Lance impact does no damage if the target is caged
• Crash on Chief spawn in Lodagond-1
• Some models failing to play death anims
• Monsters failing to play death anims if slain before fully initialized
• Velend Varon has a red aura
• You can sit and throw polearms
• Some critters failing to play death anims (but still drop items and fade)
• Humans using npc/human1.mdl or npc/human2.mdl failing to die proper.

To Do's:
• Release

Quick version of HOW TO USE POLEARMS said:
Quick, "Polearms, How do they work?" pure mutherf*cking magic...

In developer mode, to make min requirements:
. setstat polearms <balance> <proficiency> <power>
eg. ". setstat polearms 30 30 30"

• Stab critter at optimal distance for max damage (as far away as you can be and still hit 'em)
• Some polearms throw on right click, in which case, longer held=farther thrown/more damage
• Some polearms throw at a specific charge level, in which case their dmg/dist is fixed
• +use/+back for backside bunt (less damage, but stuns/repells in some cases)
• Some polearms can block with right click, blocking usually prevents stun
• +block/+back on some pole arms will inititate "spin block" after a few seconds
- Spin block reduces damage further still, and deflects most projectiles
- The Pharaoh's lance also sets up a static field in spin block.
• +block/+forward will push away nearby monsters for any polearm that can block
• Some polearms swipe (instead of thrust) if you strafe while attacking
• Most polearms have a dbl/dmg charge attack at charge #1

Changelog will have specific polearm/weapon info

There *MAYBE* an alpha DS at: thothie.game-host.org:27017
 

Keldorn

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Location
New York, NY
SPOILER WARNING:



Weapon bugs:
You can't hit Runegahr in Shad_Palace with neckhunter if he is hostile

Dragon Axe wall hit/power swing sound still broken

Most polearms, when thrown, deal damage to summons/commoners/etc when thrown, but harpoon does not

Lightning spear does not deal damage when thrown.

Thrown spears do not damage breakable objects

Thrown spears tend to just pass through larger monsters like juggernauts


Monster model freezes on death list:

Soul Eater (Thanatos)
Undead Fire Giant (Ms_Wicardoven, Lodagond-1)
(Also nearly any monster if you kill them the second they spawn, whether it be by dev commands or by normal means, but this is less of a concern.)


Misc Bugs:

The transition in shad_palace points to shahaddar_village instead of sorc_villa, resulting in a dead end

Sometimes when I change maps, this happens. http://ScrnSht.com/nwktuq

Orochi's crest still makes you invisible

One of the merchants in sorc_villa sells golden helms below their selling price.
 

Keldorn

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Location
New York, NY
I appear to crash every time I enter the boss chamber in lodagond-1, cannot test further maps until resolved.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #4

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
You can't hit Runegahr in Shad_Palace with neckhunter if he is hostile
Just the neck hunter?

PS. To test him quickly, add to listenserver.cfg/server.cfg:
ms_dynamicnpc "sorc_palace/sorc_chief"
and use "createdyn 0" in console, in developer mode.
(or use "createnpc sorc_palace/sorc_chief" - but only at shad_palace)

Dragon Axe wall hit/power swing sound still broken
No idea it was... Shall examine.

Most polearms, when thrown, deal damage to summons/commoners/etc when thrown, but harpoon does not
Hrmm... Harpoon has an enemy identifier - not sure which way I want to fix that... I suppose it should be removed for consistency.

Lightning spear does not deal damage when thrown.
Fixed - it will if it fails to cage it's target though (although it's lightning damage, so things on sorc_villa may fubar)

Thrown spears do not damage breakable objects
Canna be fixed. :/

Thrown spears tend to just pass through larger monsters like juggernauts
The usual Hitbox issues, I suspect. Ye may find the same with arrows.

Orochi's crest still makes you invisible
*sigh* Only got the report about the armor thing and fixed it. Never tested.

One of the merchants in sorc_villa sells golden helms below their selling price.
Orc or Finven? Meh, will look...

(Also nearly any monster if you kill them the second they spawn, whether it be by dev commands or by normal means, but this is less of a concern.)
Probably a result of their script not being loaded... Hrmm....
 
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #5

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Keldorn said:
I appear to crash every time I enter the boss chamber in lodagond-1, cannot test further maps until resolved.
Shall examine... Can't remember what special map end things go on there, but there's a lotta stuff happening on both ends.
 

Keldorn

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Location
New York, NY
The merchant in question is Finven.

Nevermind on the script error, must've read your post wrong and put sorc_villa instead of sorc_palace
 

Keldorn

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Location
New York, NY
I had to get him in the throne room to fight him, since it seems to be triggered by Thuldahr dying. This time Neckhunter worked perfectly fine.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #9

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
J-M v2.5.5 said:
Thothie said:
Text hard to read with bloom (try ms_txthud_bgtran 0)
ms_txthud_bgtrans 0
fyi
Thanks. >_> (I'd love to blame condump for dumping chars... But...)

Thothie said:
Keldorn said:
Thrown spears tend to just pass through larger monsters like juggernauts
The usual Hitbox issues, I suspect. Ye may find the same with arrows.
Yeeeah... Those hitboxes are fuxed up beyond belief... You'll be happy to know I have now fixed them.


Keldorn said:
The merchant in question is Finven.

Nevermind on the script error, must've read your post wrong and put sorc_villa instead of sorc_palace
You'll notice there was a lot of inconsistency going back and forth as to what sorc_villa/shad_village/shad_palace etc. were going to be named. >< Now we pay the price for our excess of inconsistency hobgoblins. (May also have caught me mid-edit).
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
That in turn spawns lodagond/sorc_image and lodagond/ice_mage_image

...hrmm...

Yup... That thar is a nice, hard, crash... No errors... No nuttin... *sigh* I love this kind of crash... >_>
 

Keldorn

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Location
New York, NY
Haxed my way to loda-4, Maldora decided that it was funny to drop his tomahawk, only to somehow make me crash to menu.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Look for a precache error maybe... Usually if it just takes you to menu, tis one of those.

You can also spawn maldora via lodagond/maldora - but he'll need to be in the previously mentioned ms_dynamicnpc cache.

Still figuring out the sorc_intro thang...
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Wierd stuff like that happens when you flip through a lotta maps.

Fixed the sorc_intro crash - apparently the host script needs a model for some reason (maybe because it is targeted, not sure). I took out the null.mdl in hopes of reducing the model overhead, me thinks.

Fixed models not finding their own death anims automagically [eg. Erkold] (although it undoes that end of the anti-gib attempts, although that end wasn't the root cause anyways.)

Erkold does still have this strangeness that his script keeps running a few seconds post mortem though. Prob need MiB's help on that one, as it may apply to any NPC who finds his death anim without it being setup proper in the scripts.

Fixed monsters 'gibbing' if slain within a split second of spawn. Downside is a split second of invulnerability after spawn (even to slay_all).

PS. ". setgold XXXX" and "createitem item_eh"
 

Keldorn

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Location
New York, NY
I was wondering where to get those.


On a related note, crafting the new dagger crashes the game, yay! :D
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
The hell? I crafted that damn thing a dozen times. ><

edits: No can duplicate on listen server, lemme try DS...

edits2: Nope... Works there too. :\

I do like how I set my gold to 99999 and came up 1 gold piece short the first time I tried though. ><
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Wonder if it has to do with having a forge ingredient in your hand at time of the exchange... Hrmmm... (And if so, wtf to do about it...)

edits: Nope... That worked too. :\ (But I still think we need to work on how items are removed during exchanges.)
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Keldorn said:
Haxed my way to loda-4, Maldora decided that it was funny to drop his tomahawk, only to somehow make me crash to menu.
Ya know... Never could duplicate this on a listen server... On the DS, I got him to do it once in awhile - but it didn't smash me to menu... It smashed the DS to the desktop (ala ye generic memory violation error), and the client to disconnected.

I've moved the Tomahawk spawn to a GM job... After killing him 10 times, he failed to crash. So I guess that's a good sign.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
BTW, in my DS, I'm getting on start:
Code:
Failed to load Steam ServiceServiceStart: failed to start
Dun think it's MSC's fault though.

I'm also getting Steam Validation errors on map change disconnect/reconnect cycles. "Retry" fixes it. I think I've gotten this on another server before though.
 

Dridmar

Old Skool Apostle
MSC Developer
Socialist Guild
Alpha Tester
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Messages
2,251
Reaction score
72
You can sit and throw polearms.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
D'oh... Fixed.

Suspect you can block and sit too - fix should cover both.
 
Top