INFO Latest Update News

The Man In Black

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
RiP
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
6,904
Reaction score
71
That may not work all that well for you, but meh. To each his own. Obviously it's up to Thothie whether you get the code or not ;-)
 

evilsquirrel

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
2,905
Reaction score
0
Age
36
Location
middle of nowhere
Jon said:
l it looks like I'm of to b&n to buy that 6000 page c++ book

i'd suggest actually finding someone who knows how who is willing to teach you at least the basics, before you dive into a book about C++...
 

Orochi

New Adventurer
MSS Developer
MSC Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
790
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Location
On a Bus
We really need to solidify the MS:C dev team. :?
 

evilsquirrel

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
2,905
Reaction score
0
Age
36
Location
middle of nowhere
Orochi said:
We really need to solidify the MS:C dev team. :?


why? letting the community make what it wants seems to work fairly well, and "solidifying the team" wouldn't really do much other than exclude models/maps/sprites from the community... amirite?
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
I used to think I knew C++ well enough, then I got smacked in the face by MSC code... It's a whole other world. Thus I refer to it as MSC++. ;) Really, 99% of the commands and keywords you have to work with are custom, referencing either HL1SDK commands or custom MSC commands made by one of a dozen guest coders. Then there's the whole bizarre client<->server dynamic you gotta learn, and yeah, don't forget the MSC script system - not to mention all the oddities of VS2003 itself ("Why are you adding code I can't search!?"). Really, knowing C++ isn't enough to be a real coder for this mod. I’ve compiled several small apps and C++ and that experience was of almost no help to me. The experience I’ve had in a dozen other coding languages helped, but only in terms of having a feel for the general syntax. A real HL1 coder would also have to be intimately familiar with the HL1SDK, its functionality, and the possible workarounds for all its various issues. Basically, it’d have to be someone who’s already been through all that hell with another mod, and probably doesn’t want to go back.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
I'll be out two to three days, probably with little or no net access - but I'll have my laptop with me and I'm trying to make sure everything's on it I'll need... Those who are assisting with the project, feel free to leave a messages at the beep. (IM/PM)
 

FER

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
2,758
Reaction score
0
Age
37
Location
on Belser's army
Thothie, I've asked someone about max entities and they told me that increasing the max entity limit is, well, somewhat of a lie. However they told me was that they supressed some model loads and they use .tga files intstead of sprite files.

They also mentioned a LOD system that reduces graphic load, making models disappear or reduce their quality when needed

Hope something of this is new :p
 

Orochi

New Adventurer
MSS Developer
MSC Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
790
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Location
On a Bus
Evil, I meant it more for getting a dedicated group of coders together than anything else. The idea would be to get a dedicated group of people together who work on the monthly schedule, rather than having new stuff drift in whenever people feel like churning it out. Admittedly, I have not been keeping up in this regard, but once finals are over I'll be back in the saddle.
 

FER

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
2,758
Reaction score
0
Age
37
Location
on Belser's army
Too bad the armor bug still hasnt been fixed. that bug is a mistery. maybe if we add the armor models to the actual player model, it wouldnt get screwed
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Actually, the core of the problem is that we can't change the submodels on the playermodel - or at least - we can't get the changes to propagate beyond the client.

Current hack solution is to have an armor model with all the player model bits, and just render the whole player model invisible.

Problem is, it seems that complex submodels such as this do not propagate properly to clients either, at least beyond the first few entries. This maybe related to the original issue.

Thus the only solutions I can think of are:
• A code solution that propagates the player model’s invisible bits properly (and thus we can go back to the old armor system, where it was all in one set of submodels – which seems to work fine for crests).
• A modeler solution, that makes the armor bulkier, large enough to fit over the player, and thus removes the need to make parts of the player invisible.

Until one of those things happen, I can’t add any more armors.
 

Thraxis

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
530
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Location
Riverside, New Jersey
Thothie said:
• A modeler solution, that makes the armor bulkier, large enough to fit over the player, and thus removes the need to make parts of the player invisible.

Correct me I'm wrong, but isn't that what Sabre intended to do with his armor model that he was working on? Except skinning/texturing the model for other armors instead of using sub models?
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Re-skinning the armor won't help - the physical structure of the armor has to be enlarged to cover the player model proper.
 

The Man In Black

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
RiP
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
6,904
Reaction score
71
Thothie, I'm fairly certain I can get the armor thing working if I get a chance to look at it. All it SHOULD involve is :

MESSAGE_BEGIN( MSG_ALL ... );
WRITE_STRING( EntToString( PlayerThatChangedHisArmor) );
WRITE_BYTE( ArmorInformation );
MESSAGE_END();

Then just pull the same crap on the client that they already do to themselves to make armor display properly.
 

Thraxis

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
530
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Location
Riverside, New Jersey
Aye, I know. He made a new model completely, I'll search for it and edit my post.

The armor he has made/was working on would be reskinned/retextured if it was added/fixed the problem.

(Sorry if i wasn't clear enough, been up for 24+ hours.)

Ninja! : viewtopic.php?t=4731
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
MiB: Well is that not on the sh*t to do list? ;) Actually, if you can figure where submodels ARE being propagated, maybe you can figure out why complex submodels on items seem to fubar (I suspect a message is the wrong size.)

Thraxis: Tis a Milkshape work file (WIP). I’ve gotta at least have an SMD & BMP before I can try anything.

Status: (betapack 30% complete)
I got home later than expected... I was hoping to cram over the weekend and get this puppy out, but I didn't get back until last night. Most of today will be spent buying a new car, and I'll be off into the blue yonder again come Wednesday, although mayhaps not for as long this time round.
 

The Man In Black

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
RiP
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
6,904
Reaction score
71
Ye be tellin' me that Scriptside file io was priority D:
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Oh okies, so long as something's goin on. I suppose it'd be about the same difficulty. (Script I/O maybe easier, actually.)

PS. Just added the name change thing to Semblin with no issues. Those of you who wish to change your name will be able to in the next patch, for a modest fee that increases with each use of the service (to prevent abuse). (I should really setup one of those developer blog thingies.)
 

Jelly

Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
1,909
Reaction score
15
Age
32
Location
You are here --> X
Thothie said:
Oh okies, so long as something's goin on. I suppose it'd be about the same difficulty. (Script I/O maybe easier, actually.)

PS. Just added the name change thing to Sembelbin with no issues. Those of you who wish to change your name will be able to in the next patch, for a modest fee that increases with each use of the service (to prevent abuse). (I should really setup one of those developer blog thingies.)

'Tis Sembelbin, one of the highest priests of Urdual, you're talking about thar. As a Blade, I feel the need to correct you on that one. :eek:
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Sembelbin, yes, thank you fantasy world grammar nazi. :p

I suspect the high-preists are going to have to handle basic titles, his menu bar is filling up.

(Mental note: Add to MSC++: Increase size of NPC game_menu_getoptions menu)
 

PBarnum

New Adventurer
MSS Developer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
3,031
Reaction score
4
With all of the new bug fixes and other things implemented. How much more stable will MS:C be?
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
^ More likely

OT. WTF did Evaan do to Sembelbin dialogue? He seems to be hopping into all sorts of unrelated topics whenever you ask him about anything. :(
 
Top