Crash (When joining server)

Humming Bird

New Adventurer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
233
Reaction score
0
Once the client is done precaching resources, it just crashes with the error

"Could not find acceptable pixel format"

I am using APR2007B patch. Any idea?

(GFX card is a Radeon x1600 with latest ATI drivers, all other games i play work like Counter Strike and Natural Selection)
 

Blasto121

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
The Pirates of Dreadwind
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
1,967
Reaction score
0
Age
38
Location
Eugene, OR
are you using open gl, Direct 3D, or software to play?

Master sword is the most compatable with open gl, thothie has been tinkering with direct 3d to get it to work, but you best bet is open gl.
 

Humming Bird

New Adventurer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
233
Reaction score
0
Yes i'm using openGL to play. It does it if i start my own server, or join any server.
 

Blasto121

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
The Pirates of Dreadwind
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
1,967
Reaction score
0
Age
38
Location
Eugene, OR
I suggest looking here for help then, this is all information regarding master sword and vista right now.
 

pimpsta

New Adventurer
God of War
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
986
Reaction score
0
yea... your map is different... delete the maps and download it from the server.

had that issues. also my server crashed when someone else map is different from mine...
 

WeissberV

New Adventurer
Crusaders
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
1,053
Reaction score
0
Age
32
Location
England
r u using linux? mabye (i don't know but try looking) look for a linux version of msc?
 

Humming Bird

New Adventurer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
233
Reaction score
0
Haha you GOT IT! I'm trying to run MSC under WINE in linux. Steam works fine, CS works fine, NS works fine, HL works fine, but MSC? Nope >_>

And there is no MSC for linux, because half life doesn't exist for linux. Thothie, am I allowed to umm... attempt a crossplatform MSC from scratch? Like original code but use of your textures and models and maps? :)
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Humming Bird said:
And there is no MSC for linux, because half life doesn't exist for linux. Thothie, am I allowed to umm... attempt a crossplatform MSC from scratch? Like original code but use of your textures and models and maps? :)

I don't see how you could do that and maintain compatibility with MS:C. Permission for a project that extensive would have to go through Lord K, although TBH - it's not as if we could stop you. ;)

Code:
		//
	// Define the minimum pixel format requirements we will need for our 
	// p-buffer. A p-buffer is just like a frame buffer, it can have a depth 
	// buffer associated with it and it can be double buffered.
	//

	int pf_attr[] =
	{
		WGL_SUPPORT_OPENGL_ARB, TRUE,       // P-buffer will be used with OpenGL
		WGL_DRAW_TO_PBUFFER_ARB, TRUE,      // Enable render to p-buffer
		WGL_BIND_TO_TEXTURE_RGBA_ARB, TRUE, // P-buffer will be used as a texture
		WGL_RED_BITS_ARB, 8,                // At least 8 bits for RED channel
		WGL_GREEN_BITS_ARB, 8,              // At least 8 bits for GREEN channel
		WGL_BLUE_BITS_ARB, 8,               // At least 8 bits for BLUE channel
		WGL_ALPHA_BITS_ARB, 8,              // At least 8 bits for ALPHA channel
		WGL_DEPTH_BITS_ARB, 16,             // At least 16 bits for depth buffer
		WGL_DOUBLE_BUFFER_ARB, FALSE,       // We don't require double buffering
		0                                   // Zero terminates the list
	};

	unsigned int count = 0;
	int pixelFormat = 0;
	wglChoosePixelFormatARB( OldhDC,(const int*)pf_attr, NULL, 1, &pixelFormat, &count);

	if( count == 0 )
	{
		MessageBox(NULL,"Could not find an acceptable pixel format!",
			"ERROR",MB_OK|MB_ICONEXCLAMATION);
		exit(-1);
	}
Now, if you wanted to try something a little less insane, I could comment out the exit statement on there, and it'd just give you the pop-up warning, and still *try* to continue. There would no doubt be some sort of side effect, but it may still function.
 

Humming Bird

New Adventurer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
233
Reaction score
0
Alright I'll try it if you email me a an updated DLL with that commented out. Heh I tried loading thornlands into hammer and it said too many visible objects and crashed :( (unless that's a linux issue too) I was going to try to load thornlands via my customized Irrlicht library =\
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
I could give you the DLL - but it's the client.dll - you wouldn't be able to join any servers with it, as it would miss-match. :/

I can add the patch to the next betapack and you'd likely have a place to play by the 1st or 2nd of May.
 

pimpsta

New Adventurer
God of War
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
986
Reaction score
0
hope you are using Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 Desktop... they work really well...
 

Humming Bird

New Adventurer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
233
Reaction score
0
Thothie said:
I could give you the DLL - but it's the client.dll - you wouldn't be able to join any servers with it, as it would miss-match. :/

I can add the patch to the next betapack and you'd likely have a place to play by the 1st or 2nd of May.

Would it work if I tried a listen server on linux? Or should I just also drop the dll onto my poor PII dinosaur (dedicated server) :)

EDIT: I just tested running a HL Listen server (note: without MM) and it works fine
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Next month maybe... If I gave it to you now, no one would be able to join your server either. I don't want people to be trying to join an APR2007x server and get a client.dll mismatch error (imagine the forum flood).
 

Humming Bird

New Adventurer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
233
Reaction score
0
:\ Well at least can I try it on Linux... Theres no guarantee it will work. (BTW server is LAN only, so no FN)

o_O - Also thornlands.wad is 1.2 Gigs? wow. <- Might just be me
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
Need to setup your LS to stick those commas in the right places. ;) 2.7MB.

I could get it to you, but I'd have to have you pinky swear not to host a server with it.
 

Humming Bird

New Adventurer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
233
Reaction score
0
Alright ;) *puts out pinky* I won't host it in public. Maybe change the game name to: Nothing Here :p (Well, *visits 192.168.0.1 and turns off port forwarding*)


EDIT: LS? o lol, i used BSPTwoMAP to get it into hammer :oldlol:

EDIT2: and then thorlands.map is a 14.3 Meg text file :)
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
*sigh* Give me a few secs to compile, upload, and link ya via PM.
 

pimpsta

New Adventurer
God of War
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
986
Reaction score
0
no no no no thothie... no no no... get the FN back up or the world is going insane! look at Humansteak.. he is out of apples!!!
 

The Man In Black

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
RiP
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
6,904
Reaction score
71
We've given you plenty of secs already!
 

Humming Bird

New Adventurer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
233
Reaction score
0
Thothie said:
*sigh* Give me a few secs to compile, upload, and link ya via PM.

Alright thanks for your support :)

I'll try it once I receive it and post results here (maybe take a screenie or two if something goes funny)
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
MSC Archivist
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,342
Reaction score
326
Location
lost
pimpsta said:
no no no no thothie... no no no... get the FN back up or the world is going insane! look at Humansteak.. he is out of apples!!!
I am at the mercy of the whims of FN just as you are. I've not seen hide nor hair of the remote connection for about a week now.

I dunno how long until Fuzzy gets a dependable net connection. May need to look into *gasp* backup plan.
 

Humming Bird

New Adventurer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
233
Reaction score
0
*kills hl.exe* MSC listen server isn't playing nice, *moves client.dll to server*

Note: under wine my OpenGL version is 2.0.6334 (and should work >.>)
 
Top