Low FPS no matter what.

franky200

New Adventurer
Shadows of Torkalath
Reaction score
I'm no expert at computers, but this is just weird. I get 30-50 fps on HL2 on 800 x 600 on High settings( Low shaders),
But on HL1 engine games i get 5-30 fps on 640 x 480. I tried the "MSC on Low end computers" thread, it helped a little. Not much though.

MY SPECS:
Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz
ATi Radeon HD3650
2.4 GB RAM
80 GB Hard drive
350 watt PSU

Yes i know this is old as shit but I am tight on money and cannot afford a new one.

jon50559

Adventurer
The True Followers of the Lost
Crusaders
RiP
Alpha Tester
MSR Developer
Reaction score
Updated drivers *could* be the problem, because ATI has awful OpenGL support. Sometimes their older drivers work a lot better in cases like this.

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
MSC Archivist
Reaction score
ATi Radeon HD3650
That, combined with Vista/7 = OpenGL fail. :/ Like they said, upgrade/downgrade drivers - pray.

I'm also surprised, however, that it'll take a 350w PSU. The Half-Life2 games would surely ride the 12v rail harder than MSC, but that PSU is well below spec for that card.

If you want a painful, but probably free, solution, I'd try to setup an XP boot. ATI drivers, unlike nVidia, are still not native OpenGL in XP, but they are more so than under Vista/7 (one emulation layer, instead of two).

franky200

New Adventurer
Shadows of Torkalath
Reaction score
I am under XP. I will try to downgrade or see if there is any upgrade for the video drivers.

FER

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Reaction score
Yeah MSC can run slower sometimes when on complex maps or due to the engine's optimization.

But on HL1 engine games i get 5-30 fps on 640 x 480. I tried the "MSC on Low end computers" thread, it helped a little. Not much though.

Even when just playing Half Life?

franky200

New Adventurer
Shadows of Torkalath
Reaction score
FER said: